Canyon Lake Ranch
On October 1, 1928, a warranty deed was given from C.W.Kingsburg and wife to form Canyon Lake Club. This property became a hunting and fishing lodge until August 12, 1937 when the club sold to the Oklahoma Military Academy, becoming their summer camp and polo grounds.
Visitors entering through the impressive stone gate will take the road past the old mess hall, officer’s quarters, and barracks constructed by the WPA program under Franklin D Roosevelt. The orchard stone house itself sits on 430 acres and overlooks Horseshoe Lake. It is a modified duplicate of House Beautiful’s 1955 Pace Setter House of the year.
In 1988 the ranch was purchased by John and Linda Tedder who have filled the home with unique antiques and eclectic country decor. Canyon Lake Ranch was one of the homes featured in the 2010 Old Home Tour.
Large floor to ceiling picture windows in every room showcase the scenic beauty of 24 acre Horseshoe Lake. Natural stone steps and a flagged path lead down to a boat ramp on the lake and a fishing pier. Cadets in residence at the former camp have carved their initials into the softer rocks.